YOUR CHOICE: Kolodziej and Bezanson win selectmen seats

Abington voters elected Michael Kolodziej and Alex Bezanson to three-year terms on the Board of Selectmen during Tuesday’s Town Election.

Kolodziej, an Abington firefighter, received 476 votes, and Bezanson, a small-business owner, received 396 votes. They outpaced Bob Manning (332 votes), Susan Ferreira-Emery (297 votes), and William Cormier (130 votes).

For Kolodziej, who was running for public office for the first time, topping the ticket meant a lot to him.

“I take that very seriously,” he said. “It means people put a lot of faith in me, especially with my lack of political experience. I hope to make everybody proud.”

Bezanson is returning to the board of which he was a member from 2015-18. He did not seek re-election at the time in order to focus on his bid for state representative, which he ultimately lost.

“I’m honored the people of Abington elected me again,” he said. “I’ve had a lot of bad publicity for nonsense stuff over the past couple years and it means a lot that they didn’t beleive it and supported me.”

In the only other contested race on the ballot, Ellen Delany won a four-year term on the Abington Housing Authority over Robert Bates, 498-292.

Just 958 of Abington’s more than 11,000 registered voters cast a ballot on Tuesday.

In the uncontested races, Town Clerk Leanne Adams; Town Moderator Shawn Reilly; Board of Assessor member Lawrence Keough; public library trustees Betty Henderson, Barbara McLaughlin, and John O’Neill Jr.; school committee members Chris Coyle and Wendy Happel; Planning Board member Robert Soper; and Sewer Commissioners John Brown and Mark Jamieson all won re-election.

Ann Kent was elected to fill a one-year unexpired term on the Board of Assessors, and Christina Fifer won her first three-year term on the board of health. 

%d bloggers like this: