YOUR CHOICE ’23: Town Elections on Saturday; polls open 8am-6pm

Seats on a number of the town’s most influential boards are up for grabs Saturday during Abington’s Annual Town Elections.

Polls will be open from 8 a.m. until 6 p.m. at the Beaver Brook Elementary School. Preliminary results will be posted later in the evening.

There are competitive races for seats on the Board of Selectmen, Planning Board, and School Committee.

There are three candidates for two seats on the Board of Selectmen: Alex Bezanson, of Randolph Street, Suzanne Djusberg, of Central Avenue, and Kevin Donovan, of Adams Street.

There are also three candidates for two seats on the School Committee: Chris Coyle, of Karen Lane, Nicole Emery, of Washington Street, and Melanie Whitney, of Loganberry Drive. 

And there are two candidates for one seat on the Planning Board: Bruce Hughes, of Randolph Street, and Michelle Kearney, of Adams Street. 

Beaver Brook Elementary School is a beehive of activity Saturday morning for the Annual Town Elections

Two people have launched write-in campaigns for the two open seats as Water Commissioners. William Cormier is running for the three-year seat; and Tom Dion is running for the one-year seat.

Running unopposed are: Shawn Reilly, of Dorsey Street, for Town Moderator; Leanne Adams, of Shaw Avenue, for Town Clerk; Lawrence Keough, of East Battery Street, for Board of Assessors; Amanda Zompetti, of Pilgrim Street, for Board of Health; Mark Jamieson, of Andrew Ford Way, for Sewer Commissioner; and Barbara McLaughlin, of Checkerberry Road, John O’Neill Jr., of Colonel Hunt Drive, and Susan Crowley, of Linwood Street, all for Trustees of the Public Library.

Election coverage, including videos of candidates forums, are available here.

%d bloggers like this: